Welcome to amadon.org







The Ritter Award

Every year the Society of American Baseball Research (SABR) presents two prizes, the Seymour medal to best baseball book of the year and the Ritter Award to the best book about the deadball era, circa 1875-1915.

In March 2010, Don Hubbard was one of only eleven writers nominated for this award, and as notified by SABR Member John McMurray:

“Under the direction of Gabriel Schechter, the Deadball Era Committee’s Ritter Award subcommittee is in the process of determining the winner of this year’s award. The award recognizes the best book published in 2009 that was focused primarily on the Deadball Era.

The candidates for the 2010 Ritter Award are (in alphabetical order by author last name):

  • Brian Cooper: Ray Schalk: A Baseball Biography
  • Sean Deveney: The Original Curse: Did the Cubs Throw the 1918 World Series to Babe Ruth’s Red Sox and Incite the Black Sox Scandal?
  • Don Doxsie: Iron Man McGinnity: A Baseball Biography David Fleitz: The Irish in Baseball: An Early History
  • Donald Hubbard: The Red Sox Before the Babe: Boston's Early Days in the American League, 1901-1914
  • Robert Kelly: Baseball Offensive Greats of the Deadball Era: Best Producers Rated by Position, 1901-1919
  • George Matthews: When the Cubs Won It All: The 1908 Championship Season Amy Whorf McGuiggan: Take Me Out to the Ball Game: The Story of the Sensational Baseball Song
  • Mike Vaccaro: The First Fall Classic: The Red Sox, the Giants, and the Cast of Players, Pugs, and Politics Who Re-Invented the World Series in 1912
  • Robert Wiggins: The Federal League of Base Ball Clubs: The History of an Outlaw League, 1914-1915 Paul and John Zinn: The Major League Baseball Pennant Races of 1916: The Most Maddening Baseball Melee in History.